Councilman Michael Kots
Councilman Michael Kots
May 31, 2013

Carroll's 1st Ward Councilman Michael Kots Thursday announced he would seek re-election to a four-year term on the city council.

"If the city will have me, I'll stick around," Kots, 45, said.

Kots, 1629 Oakwood Drive, is the Carroll dispatcher and operations manager for Windstar Lines.

Mayor Adam Schweers appointed Kots to the council following the 2009 city elections. Kots won election to the remainder of Schweers' four-year term in November 2012.

This will be his first race for a full, four-year term in his own right.

"I just want to continue the service to the community," Kots said.

A Le Mars native, Kots is a graduate of Grantham University in Kansas City, Mo., where he earned his bachelor's degree in business administration.

Kots and his wife, Marchelle, have two boys: Matthew, 19, who will be a freshman at Iowa State University and is a new member of the National Guard; and Matthan, 14, who will be a freshman at Carroll High School.

Michael Kots joined the National Guard as a high school junior in 1985 and served as the training non-commissioned officer and readiness NCO in Carroll. He was deployed in 2004-05 with the Carroll Guard Unit for a year in Afghanistan.

He retired from the Guard as a master sergeant.

Kots and his family moved to the Carroll area in 1995. His family attends Pleasant Ridge Community Church south of Glidden.

As a member of the council, Kots has been an active questioner of city policy and a vocal contributor on matters of public safety. He worked closely with the police department on a number of fronts while with the military.

The filing period for the November city elections begins Aug. 26 and closes on Sept. 19. Candidates can take out papers at city hall or online through the Iowa Secretary of State's Office -

At-large Councilman Jeff Scharfenkamp has said he will not seek re-election. Third Ward Councilman Mike Eifler said he expects to make a decision by this weekend. Schweers has indicated he will seek a second two-year term. The other Carroll elected officials' seats are not up until 2015.