November 6, 2013

Jerry Fleshner isn't letting much dust gather on his resume of public service in Carroll.

The seven-year Carroll Community School District member, who only weeks ago stepped down from that role, earned a commanding victory for an at-large Carroll City Council seat Tuesday with 72 percent of the vote in a three-candidate race. Fleshner received 533 votes. The other two candidates, Amber Raak, a co-owner of the Carroll Pizza Ranch, received 161. Van Meter sales representative Kyle Fesenmeyer collected 49 votes.

"I'm pleased with the results," said Fleshner, a Carroll pharmacist. "Mostly I'm anxious to start learning how to serve."

Fleshner said he planned to zero in on knowledge of the budget process, and attend a number of local and statewide training sessions.

He credited the overwhelming margin to a combination of message and his longevity as a recognizable elected official.

"I did have an advantage of having been in town longer," Fleshner said.

Raak and Fesenmeyer both recently moved to Carroll.

Fleshner said Carroll residents can expect sensible, informed service from him on the council.

"I didn't run with a specific agenda," he said.

Raak, making her first run for elective office, said the experience prepared her for the future.

"In my time with Jerry I learned a lot from the questions he asked," Raak said. "I know the city's in great hands. I think Jerry will do a great job."

Voter turnout in the City of Carroll was just over 10 percent with 746 of the 7,316 registered voters casting ballots.

Mayor Adam Schweers rode to re-election in an unopposed contest with 607 votes. There were 41 write-in votes for mayor.

Michael Kots won re-election in Ward 1 and Carroll businessman Clay Haley captured the Ward 3 seat. Both were unopposed.

The Carroll County Supervisors will canvass the election results during a regular meeting Tuesday morning starting at 9 a.m.

The following are results in other Carroll County cities:


Michael D. Schwabe, a councilman, won election to a two-year term as mayor. He succeeds Jim Ulveling who moved to Carroll. Bruce Boes, Chad McDermott and Martin Synder won election to four-year council terms, and Bruce Steinkamp won election to fill an at-large vacancy.

Coon Rapids

Roger Clayburg, Janelle Kracht and Joshua Smouse were elected to four-year terms on the council. Joan Irlmeier won a six-year term as a Thomas Rest Haven trustee. Coon Rapids is the only city in the county with a four-year term for mayor. Mayor Jeff Anthofer was not up for re-election.


Mayor Russell Axman won re-election. Brett Beyerink, Gerald Golwitzer and Tony Seidl won election to four-year terms on the council.


Mayor Roger Hartwigsen won re-election. John Arrowsmith and Bob Linde won election to four-year terms on the council.


Randy Theulen won election as mayor and will succeed Mayor Dennis Williams, who did not seek re-election. Ryan Borkowski and Andy Snyder won election to four-year terms on the council.


Mayor Shirley Thompson won the mayoral race as a write-in candidate with 21 votes. Former Mayor Edgar Hunt received 11 write-in votes, and Dean McCoy 4. Wanda Batta, Jamie Michael Hanlon and Angela Richardson won election to four-year terms on the council.


Nathan Pudenz won election as mayor with 30 votes, edging out Tammy Thompson with 27. Pudenz will succeed Mayor Randy Ayers, who did not seek re-election. There were 14 write-in votes for mayor. Stan Hoffman, Willow McLaughlin and Max Wenck were elected to four-year terms on the council.


Mayor Harvey Dales won re-election with no opposition. Three people emerged from a four-person contest for three council seats: Heath Doyel (107 votes), Dick Johnson (90 votes), and Lenny Rowedder (99 votes). The fourth candidate, Andrew M. Eischeid, received 83 votes.


Write-in candidate Lois Kelly received 18 votes to Mayor Chad Stevens' 13. Annie Johnston and Ronald Turner won election to four-year terms on the council.


Mayor Ken Behrens won re-election in an unopposed contest. Mark Bauer and Rick Hoffman won election to four-year terms on the council.


John Guinan received 29 votes to capture the mayor's seat in a race with incumbent Randy Huegerich, who collected 21 votes. Keith Schreck and Robert Hoffman received 24 votes to win four-year council terms. Ryan Rath (20 votes) and Tim Bauer (23 votes) fell short in their council bids.