Mayor Adam Schweers
Mayor Adam Schweers
August 20, 2013

Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds' campaign committee - the Governor Branstad Committee - Monday announced that Carroll Mayor Adam Schweers will join other county Republicans as co-chairs for the governor's 2014 re-election bid.

The initial organization will include 1,040 county chairs across the state. The organization, which will continue to grow as the campaign works to fill every precinct, includes co-chairs in every county, the Branstad campaign said in a press release.

The other Carroll County co-chairs for the campaign are: Dr. Allen Anneberg, Jim and Aimee Bagley, Brian and Sharon Best, Ian Granstra, Jim and Mary Greteman, Dr. Marty and Dee Halbur, Randy and Debbie Nieland, Trish Roberts, Kim and Kimberly Tiefenthaler, Craig and Cindy Williams and Steve Williams.

"This is just the beginning of our continual work to build the strongest grassroots organization Iowa Republicans have ever seen," said campaign manager Jake Ketzner. "We find as we visit with Iowans they are proud to join Governor Branstad and Lieutenant Governor Reynolds' team because of their tireless work bringing jobs to Iowa, growing our family incomes, providing a world-class education for our children and reining in frivolous government spending."

Branstad, a Republican, endorsed Schweers in the mayor's unsuccessful GOP primary bid last summer for the Iowa Senate District 6 seat now represented by Republican Mark Segebart of Vail. Schweers is seeking re-election in November as mayor, a non-partisan office in Carroll.