September 9, 2013


Voters will head to the polls tomorrow, Sept. 10, between noon and 8 p.m. for the regular school election.

Carroll voters will be electing two school board members for four-year terms for the Carroll Community School District. The candidates are Duane Horsley, Jennifer Munson and Dave Teske. Incumbents Jerry Fleshner and Dennis Molitor opted not to seek re-election.

Munson and Horsley are on the official ballot, while Teske is a write-in candidate. In an article in the Daily Times Herald that ran Friday, Sept. 6, Teske incorrectly told the DTH that "Delaney's Dad" was an approved write-in name. According to Joan Schettler of the Carroll County Auditor's Office, only "Dave Teske" will be counted as a write-in vote for the candidate.

All five Carroll School Board positions are elected at-large to four-year terms.

Polling locations are as follows:

- For residents of Wards 1, 2, 3 and 4 of Carroll, as well as Maple River and Arcadia Townships, vote in the courthouse meeting room at the Carroll County Courthouse, located at 114 E. Sixth St. in Carroll.

- For residents of Pleasant Valley-Newton-Eden Precinct, vote at Dedham City Hall, located at 206 Main St. in Dedham.

- For residents of Sheridan-Grant Precinct, vote at Lidderdale Community Hall, located on Main Street in Lidderdale.

- For residents of Washington-Roselle Precinct, vote at the Halbur Community Center, located at 105 W. Second St.

- For residents of Wheatland-Kniest Precinct, vote at St. Bernard Parish Hall, located at 304 N. Second St. in Breda.

Four other area school districts also have contested board races.

For Coon Rapids-Bayard, Kelly Pevestorf and Brenda Schlatter are battling for an open seat in District 1, and Steve Dentlinger and Chad Leighty are fighting for an open seat in District 4.

For IKM-Manning, Sam Hansen, Jeff Hornback, Dennis Kasparbauer, Zachary J. Meiners and Eric Ramsey are running for two open at-large seats.

For East Sac County, Carolyn Carnes, Rochelle Crump, Amanda Lynch, Jackie Mahler and Jay Stoltenberg are competing for two open positions.

For Jefferson-Scranton, newcomer John McConnell is challenging incumbents Teresa Hagen, David Ohrt and Mark Peters in a battle for three open seats. Voters in the Jefferson-Scranton district will also decide the fate of a 10-year physical plant and equipment levy.

For a complete list of races and issues, visit