Jennifer Munson
Jennifer Munson
September 11, 2013


Jennifer Munson and Duane Horsley won the race for two open seats on the Carroll Community School District board of education in Tuesday's school election.

Munson received 430 votes, and Horsley received 350 votes. In a write-in campaign, Dave Teske received 248 write-in votes.

"It feels good," Munson said of her victory. "I'm glad that I'm able to go and represent the community and that we have an educator on the board."

Munson thanked voters for their support.

"We have a great board to work with," she said. "I'm excited to join and hit the ground running."

Horsley said that he was excited as well.

"I'm ready to roll up my sleeves and go to work for the school," he said.

Teske sent his congratulations to his opponents, as well as thanks to residents who got out to vote.

"I'm one of those guys, if it's meant to be, it will be," he said. "They'll do a great job, and I'll still be active in the school and get on the ballot again in two years."

Munson has more than 15 years of teaching experience in three Arizona districts and a K-12 online school. She has volunteered in the Carroll schools since her family moved to the area two years ago. Horsley is an agricultural sales representative who has had four sons in the district.

The two new members will be sworn in at the school board meeting at 6:30 p.m. Monday, Sept. 16. They will serve four-year terms, succeeding Jerry Fleshner and Dennis Molitor, who didn't run for re-election.

With 647 ballots cast, voter turnout in the CCSD was higher than expected at 6 percent.

"It's usually around 2 percent, so that's really good for a school election," said Carroll County Auditor Joan Schettler. "It's sad to say, but it is."

Four other area school boards held contested races. The results were:

- East Sac County: Jay Stoltenburg and Amanda Lynch were elected to the board. Stoltenburg received 435 votes. Lynch received 365 votes, edging Jackie Mahler, who received 354 votes. Rochelle Crump and Carolyn Carnes rounded out the totals, receiving 252 and 47 votes, respectively.

- IKM-Manning: Newcomer Sam Hansen will join incumbent Eric Ramsey on the board. The two candidates received 746 and 709 votes, respectively, edging incumbent Dennis Kasparbauer, who received 679 votes, as well as newcomers Zachery Meiners and Jeff Hornback, who received 482 and 66 votes, respectively.

- Coon Rapids-Bayard: In District 1, Brenda Schlatter defeated Kelly Pevestorf for a board position with 227 votes to Pevestorf's 66. In District 4, the race was closer, with challenger Chad Leighty taking 183 votes to incumbent Steve Dentlinger's 108.

- Jefferson-Scranton: Teresa Hagen, David Ohrt and Mark Peters will retain their seats. Newcomer John McConnell took 269 votes, while Hagen received 345, Ohrt 383 and Peters 419.

The Jefferson-Scranton/East Greene school districts also had a physical plant and equipment levy (PPEL) on the ballot. The two districts are in the process of consolidating. The PPEL measure passed by 12 votes in the Jefferson-Scranton district and failed by 12 votes in the East Greene district, leaving the results tied with 330 votes for yes and 330 votes for no.

However, according to the Greene County Auditor's Office, there is still one absentee ballot that was sent and has not been returned. The ballot must be received by Friday to count. For a levy to pass, it must receive more than 50 percent "yes" votes. If the ballot is not received, the tie will stand and the levy will fail. Greene County Auditor Billie Jo Hoskins said the voter turnout for the election was higher than usual at 12.14 percent in the Jefferson-Scranton district and 10.85 percent in the East Greene district.

Des Moines Area Community College had renewal of two levies on the ballot. Votes were cast in 22 counties across central Iowa. The 6-cent plant levy received approval from 74 percent of the voters and the 201/4-cent equipment levy received approval from 71 percent of the voters. In Carroll County, the plant levy received 82 percent "yes" votes and the equipment levy 78 percent "yes" votes.

Election results are considered unofficial until canvassed by county boards of supervisors at the end of the week.