Monday, September 10, 2012

Carroll High School is one of two high schools in the state selected for the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program.

Carroll and West Delaware High School were chosen for the honor.

“The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students’ levels of academic achievement,” according to the U.S. Department of Education.

The program began in 1982 and has since “become a trademark of excellence, a symbol of quality recognized by everyone,” according to the Department of Education. The Secretary of Education invites chief state school officers in every state to nominate the schools that meet criteria to be a Blue Ribbon School.

According to the Department of Education, a school must be high-performing as defined by each state chief state school officer.

Crescent Elementary School in Council Bluffs, Lincoln Elementary School in Mount Pleasant and Mitchellville Elementary School in the Southeast Polk School District were also chosen.

Carroll High School principal Steve Haluska and a teacher will be invited to attend a ceremony in Washington, D.C., on Nov. 12 and 13.